Disable the 80 column card using code

Software discussion & Emulation
Post Reply
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:47 am

Disable the 80 column card using code

Post by Lardo Boffin » Fri Nov 24, 2023 5:50 pm

Hello!

Does anyone know how to disable the 80 column card using machine code?

Basically I am developing using Borland Turbo Pascal in 80 column mode but want the software I am writing to run in 40 column mode without having to exit to DOS and press keys to switch manually.

Thanks!
TC-01 + einSDein + TM-01 + TK-02 + gotek

Lardo Boffin
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:47 am

Re: Disable the 80 column card using code

Post by Lardo Boffin » Sat Nov 25, 2023 4:47 pm

Looks like this may do it:

IMG_4869.jpeg
IMG_4869.jpeg (2.75 MiB) Viewed 3236 times
TC-01 + einSDein + TM-01 + TK-02 + gotek

gunrock
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 10:27 pm

Re: Disable the 80 column card using code

Post by gunrock » Sat Nov 25, 2023 8:11 pm

That should do it! Looks like you're having fun.

Lardo Boffin
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 11:47 am

Re: Disable the 80 column card using code

Post by Lardo Boffin » Sat Nov 25, 2023 8:22 pm

I’m trying to get my head around Borland Turbo Pascal. It’s quite good!

The development environment is very advanced for the time.
TC-01 + einSDein + TM-01 + TK-02 + gotek

gunrock
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 10:27 pm

Re: Disable the 80 column card using code

Post by gunrock » Sun Nov 26, 2023 9:15 am

I used Turbo Pascal for the PC around '87. It was decent. My friend at college wrote a pretty cool game that wrote directly to Hercules video memory by mapping a 2D array overlaying those memory addresses. Fast screen updates for free!

Not possible to do that on the TMS99XX graphics architecture, of course!

Gary C
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:19 am

Re: Disable the 80 column card using code

Post by Gary C » Tue Apr 02, 2024 8:36 pm

Used TP to write an emulator for a Digital Equipment Corporation TU58 tape drive back in the early 90's. Its still in use now.

I do remember it having the same error as the Pascal compiler on the Old PRIME mainframe I used to program on at college. As I remember, if you coded an input after a certain print command, it would put a carriage return into the input buffer such that you needed to put a second input straight after it to get it to read from the keyboard.

Post Reply